Facebook came up with an idea to manage users account after death

Facebook announced that they will be adding a new “Legacy Contact” option for its users that allows them to pick a special contact who will decide what to do with their Facebook page, profile and more when they pass away, but the person won’t have the right to read his/her messages. They can, however, download all of your photos in the profile of the deceased if the permission is granted.


To set up a legacy contact, users will need to go to Security and click on “Legacy Contact,” and select one of your Facebook friends. After someone has contacted Facebook alerting the company about a death, Facebook will turn control of the account to the pre-selected Legacy Contact. That person will be able to do the following, according to Facebook:

  • Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline (for example, to announce a memorial service or share a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo.

Facebook also redesigned memorial profiles by adding the word “Remembering” above the deceased’s name and will allow a legacy contact to pin a post to the top of their timeline. Moreover, in any case the person wants to delete the profile, Facebook will also honor that request and will remove all his pictures and post from timeline. This new feature is still being tested and would be rolled out soon in U.S. In addition to this Facebook also announced a new Online tool last week, do read about it here.

About the author

Debjeet Pal

He is now a BTech graduate in ECE department. He loves to play guitar and has keen interest in Music. Geek by nature, fiddles around with Android and Windows.

Leave a Comment